Menu

Compare

Hill's Science Diet vs Purina Pro Plan, from the label.

8 Hill's Science Diet and 20 Purina Pro Plan foods are in our catalog. Here is what their labels record, on one dry matter scale, with no scores and no winner picked for you.

Dog foods

Medians with the lowest and highest recorded value across each brand's dog foods. Recipes within a brand differ a lot, so open individual foods for the real detail.

Label fact
Hill's Science Diet5 foods5 dry · 0 wet
Purina Pro Plan14 foods13 dry · 1 wet
Protein (min), dry matterCalculated from label values; not stated on the label.
25.6%range 22.2–26.7% · 5 foods
30.1%range 29.5–50% · 14 foods
Fat (min), dry matterCalculated from label values; not stated on the label.
11.7%range 8.9–14.4% · 5 foods
18.2%range 13.6–22.7% · 14 foods
Fiber (max), dry matterCalculated from label values; not stated on the label.
5.6%range 4.4–20% · 5 foods
3.4%range 3.4–8.3% · 14 foods
Protein per 100 kcal (min)Grams of protein for every 100 calories. Puts wet and dry foods on one scale. Calculated from label values; not stated on the label.
7.2 grange 5.3–7.5 g · 5 foods
6.9 grange 6.1–10.4 g · 14 foods
Fat per 100 kcal (min)Grams of fat for every 100 calories. Calculated from label values; not stated on the label.
3.3 grange 2.5–3.5 g · 5 foods
4.2 grange 2.9–4.6 g · 14 foods
Compare one food from each side by side

Cat foods

Medians with the lowest and highest recorded value across each brand's cat foods. Recipes within a brand differ a lot, so open individual foods for the real detail.

Label fact
Hill's Science Diet3 foods3 dry · 0 wet
Purina Pro Plan6 foods6 dry · 0 wet
Protein (min), dry matterCalculated from label values; not stated on the label.
32.2%range 32.1–33.3% · 3 foods
40.9%range 40.9–48.9% · 6 foods
Fat (min), dry matterCalculated from label values; not stated on the label.
18.9%range 14.5–21.1% · 3 foods
18.2%range 10.2–20.5% · 6 foods
Fiber (max), dry matterCalculated from label values; not stated on the label.
8.9%range 3.3–9.6% · 3 foods
2.6%range 2.3–5.7% · 6 foods
Protein per 100 kcal (min)Grams of protein for every 100 calories. Puts wet and dry foods on one scale. Calculated from label values; not stated on the label.
7.8 grange 7.6–7.9 g · 2 foods
8.9 grange 8.3–12.5 g · 6 foods
Fat per 100 kcal (min)Grams of fat for every 100 calories. Calculated from label values; not stated on the label.
4.2 grange 3.6–4.8 g · 2 foods
3.8 grange 2.6–4.6 g · 6 foods
Compare one food from each side by side

What the label cannot tell you

A label shows minimums and maximums, not how much your pet will eat, how well a food is digested, or whether it suits a health condition. Brand-level medians blur very different recipes together. Ask your veterinarian before changing a pet's diet. Dry matter values use each label's own moisture maximum, and calorie rows use the calories per kg recorded from each label.